Basic and Clinical Science Awards
Deadline to Submit: April 30, 2014


The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award recognizes early- to mid-career neurologists and neuroscientists who have made outstanding basic and clinical scientific advances toward the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and cure of neurological diseases.

Eligible candidates are those who have applied for, and been approved for, new membership to the American Neurological Association (ANA) between July 25, 2013 and April 30, 2014.  The Membership Committee, together with the President, will then select the two awardees, one in Basic Science and one in Clinical Science. 

Each awardee—Basic Science and Clinical Science—will present a paper at the ANA’s annual meeting. The ANA will also award a prize of $1,000 to each awardee.

Complete nominations must include the following:

To submit a nomination for the Basic Science or Clinical Science Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award, please provide the following in one email to

  1. Nomination form, signed by the Neurology Department Chair
  2. Nomination letter from Chair, Program Director, or Education Chair (max 3 pgs)
    Details to include: Type of research | Number of first-authored peer-reviewed publications | Outline major contributions to the field of study
  3. Nominee’s CV and bibliography
  4. Research description: a summation of the nominee’s research (max 3 pgs)
  5. 3 Abstracts reflecting the substance of research achievement

Submit completed nomination packets via email by April 30, 2014 to:
Jessica Keenan Smith
Director, Education and Member Services
American Neurological Association

Online Form

Past Recipients:

2013 Kevin Kerber and J. Paul Taylor
2012 Dawn Kleindorfer and Brian Traynor
2011 Reisa Sperling and Jay A. Gottfried
2010 Dane Chetkovich
2009 Carsten G. Bonnemann and Ming Guo
2008 Christine Klein
2007 Douglas A. Kerr
2006 Scott Small
2005 Ahmet Hoke
2004 Daniel H. Geschwind
2003 Argye E. Hillis
2002 Jonathan W. Mink and Jonathan K. Fink
2001 Bruce A. Yankner
2000 Stephen C. Cannon
1999 Christopher Walsh
1998 Robert B. Darnell
1997 Louis J. Ptacek
1996 Ted M. Dawson
1995 Donald R. Johns
1994 Huda Zoghbi
1993 Allan Levey
1992 M. Flint Beal
1991 William Mobley
1990 Kenneth Kosik