The Soriano Lectureship is given to a member of the ANA, and includes a $1,000 honorarium, a plaque, and travel and lodging to attend the ANA Annual Meeting.

When asked in 1989 why they sponsored a lectureship, the Sorianos wrote:

"When we first went to the United States in 1945, to stay as a Rockefeller Fellow, first at the Yale University with Professor John F. Fulton and afterwards at the Montefiore Hospital, Columbia University with Professor H. Houston Merritt, we enjoyed the most cordial and warm welcome everywhere, establishing lasting bonds of friendship with outstanding promising young doctors, who are now senior members of the American Neurological Association and prestigious professors.

Thus, when I became member of the American Neurological Association several decades ago, I returned since 1948 every year with the double pleasure to enjoy a very high level of scientific meeting and to see dear old friends.

Little by little, we have regarded the ANA as a big family, to which we were united by warm affection…

Sponsoring a lectureship to be given at the ANA, we are very happy to think that in future years the Sorianos will always be linked to all of you, through a brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist . . . "

The first lecture was given in 1987, which marked the 40th year of consecutive attendance at ANA meetings by the Sorianos.

Past Awardees

2013 Howard L. Weiner
2012 Alastair Compston
2011 Tallie Z. Baram
2010 Mathias Jucker
2009 John C. Morris
2007 Marc A. Dichter
2006 David M. Holtzman
2005 Roger P. Simon
2004 Robert C. Griggs
2003 Michael A. Moskowitz
2002 Marcus E. Raichle
2001 Gerald Fischbach
2000 Antonio R. Damasio
1999 Anne B. Young
1998 Huda Zoghbi
1997 John W. Griffin
1996 Henry F. McFarland
1995 Jerome B. Posner
1994 Salvatore DiMauro
1993 John M. Newsome-Davis
1992 Martha Denckla
1991 Lewis P. Rowland
1990 Donald Price
1989 Albert Aguayo
1988 Stanley Fahn
1987 Darrell D. Bigner